EAT | August Dinners

Phew. I thought I was going to have to skip August. My little post-it notes (that I keep record on) disappeared and since I find it difficult to recall what we had for dinner a few days ago, I knew I wouldn’t be able to remember an entire month. But, lucky me (and you!), they had just fallen behind into another drawer.

In the last few months I ditched my dairy-free diet restriction since it wasn’t bothering my son anymore, so most meals now include cheese or some sort of milk product in the recipe. At the end of these months, after once again eating all the dairy I’ve ever wanted, I remembered why being dairy-free feels so good. After this holiday season is over (and I have baked everything on this planet with real butter), I might put myself on a semi-dairy-free diet. I love dairy, but it doesn’t always love me back. I should probably be an adult and learn how to control my intake. 🙂

Enjoy the list, and I’ll try to not enjoy dairy so much.

  1. Fish tacos
  2. Steak, baked potatoes, corn
  3. Salmon/chicken, rice
  4. Pasta with creamy marinara
  5. Greek meal with pork (see previous months for specifics)
  6. Greek meal with chicken
  7. Shrimp enchiladas (see previous month for recipe)
  8. Homemade ramen
  9. Sausages, fries, green beans, fruit
  10. Pasta and shrimp
  11. Leftovers (chicken souvlaki and cucumber/tomato salad)
  12. Chipotle at our friend’s going away party
  13. Pork/salmon, rice, broccoli, bread
  14. Meatloaf
  15. Pita with steak/shrimp, cucumber/tomato, mint/garlic yogurt
  16. Sausage and home fries
  17. Dominos
  18. Stir fry
  19. Shrimp, corn, cucumber/tomato, caprese
  20. ? No idea
  21. Stir fry
  22. Beef tacos
  23. Tortellini
  24. Greek meal (we seem to like this one a lot)
  25. Sausage, cheese, popcorn, fruit
  26. Tortellini
  27. Stuffed peppers
  28. Burgers/grilled cheese, herbed potato wedges
  29. Homemade pizza
  30. Baked potatoes, leftover pizza
  31. Steak, corn on the cob, leftover pizza

Our meals have gotten, once again, pretty homogeneous in terms of familiarity and lack of real pizzazz. Many nights I noticed it’s 4:30 and I should start cooking, but get distracted with kids and cleaning until 5:30, and then I need something quick. The days I start cooking at 3:30 is when I can get something great on the table, but then I think about how not feasible that would be when I go back to work (not any time soon, but still a consideration).

Meal planning and prep definitely take some time but once they’re in place it makes everything go faster on the night of. That’s one of my goals in the kitchen – be more prepared and plan more (which is funny that I’m not more this way considering my personality type). I can always get better!

One thought on “EAT | August Dinners

Leave a Reply

