TODDLER | Books We Love 2yo – Q3

Three months closer to my little girl turning three. It’s true what they say – the days are long but the years are short. I’m trying to savor every story time with her although they’re changing. No longer does she sit still the entire time, and no longer is it just her. Sometimes her little brother joins in too. I hope he’ll have an expansive vocabulary just like she did, and maybe sooner, since he’s getting a dedicated story time from the start (and not just random books I was reading out loud while breastfeeding like I did with my daughter).

She’s been into some fantastic new books this last quarter and I’m loving the new stories we have in our collection. Here are the ones that have been in heavy rotation since December.

 

Rosie Revere, Engineer | Ada Twist, Scientist | Iggy Peck, Architect

I heard of these books (written by Andrea Beaty and meticulously illustrated by David Roberts) before my daughter was born but wasn’t sure what to think of them since I hadn’t actually opened one before. I thought they might be a bit stale and on the dry side of “strong books for strong kids” but something (maybe a recommendation from a friend?) got me to buy them for my daughter. I’m so glad I did.

These three books are well written stories of smart, creative kids who have passion, hit a bump, and keep on going. I love reading them aloud (partly because they’re written in rhyme and I can’t get enough of reading in rhyme) and my daughter loves listening to them. She can recite quite a bit and enjoys pointing out items in the beautiful illustrations. These are all of our favorites for sure.

If your child is a Peppa Pig fan (and let’s be honest, who’s kid isn’t?) this is a staple. It’s an abridged combination of many of the animated stories I’ve seen and therefore a winner.

My daughter LOVES ‘Punzel, so it was a natural step to get the Golden Book after watching the movie (over and over and over) so I could read the story to her at bedtime. I don’t love the amount of times they make you read Mother Gothel, but I’ve found ways to be creative and avoid saying her name when reading it out loud.

We’ve had this book for a while but she finally wanted to read it. It’s a Richard Scarry classic about a baby bunny and what everyone in his family thinks he will grow up to be. The twist? This baby bunny already knows what he’s going to grow up to be and smirks at his family as they discuss their wishes for him. It’s cute and enjoyable to see the old fashioned illustrations that I grew up with.

Frozen is a constant in this household. This story is about Olaf and a picnic he, Anna, and Elsa enjoy out in the sun on a fjord. What a lucky snowman.

Did I mention she’s still in love with Frozen? This is a box of 4 very short books that focus on Anna, Elsa, Olaf, and Kristoff + Sven. Cute and easy to read over and over again.

It wouldn’t be a March list without a Christmas book on here. I love it because it’s a Dr. Seuss rhyming story, and she loves it because it’s about Christmas. Win win.

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “TODDLER | Books We Love 2yo – Q3

Leave a Reply

