EAT | No-Mess Bacon

I don’t eat bacon. It doesn’t mean I don’t make it for my family, or enjoy the smell of it, or reminisce about summers in Wisconsin when my grandmother would make bacon in the morning and the entire house would smell like bacon grease for hours…

I just don’t eat it.

But I’ve made it for years. And it’s not exactly the cleanest of things to make. Grease splatter everywhere, even if you use a grease screen… just not the prettiest thing in the world to clean up.

So when I learned how to make it the “clean” way, I was pretty excited.

Bacon 1

First step: Don’t turn on the oven yet.

  1. Grab a pan and line it with tin foil. Extra points if you have a jelly roll pan that will allow you to fold the sides of the tin foil up, thus capturing all of the grease that will inevitably drain out of the bacon.
  2. Lay out your bacon. This picture shows some decently spaced bacon, but most mornings the entire pan is completely packed.
  3. Once you’re satisfied with your bacon placement, turn the oven to 400 degrees F.
  4. Immediately put the pan in. The key is to put the bacon into a cold oven. I’m not sure why. I’m no scientist. All I know is it works and it’s easy and I don’t have to think about it.
  5. Set the timer to anywhere from 18 minutes (still pretty soft) to 22 minutes (decently crispy) or longer if you like to eat burnt strips of carbon.
  6. When the timer goes off, judge your bacon’s doneness and either put it back in for a minute or two, or take it out and enjoy.

Clean up consists of folding up the tin foil (and possibly cleaning up the pan if you’re impatient like me and fold the foil quickly and then make a mess on the pan anyway) and occasionally doing the self-clean on your oven.

The house still has a nice bacon-y smell, but grease isn’t all over your stovetop.

Nice.

Bacon 2

2 thoughts on “EAT | No-Mess Bacon

Leave a Reply

