DO | Packing Peanuts

I hate packing peanuts. Unfortunately, they’re a constant part of my life because we live far away from either set of parents, and (fortunately) they like to mail us stuff.

In one shipment (this was an anomaly), I had 6 kitchen garbage bags and 4 grocery plastic bags full of peanuts. To be fair, though, this was a humongous box (it came up to my waist) and it was to ship some pretty important things my way. But, man. The peanuts!

I used to save them, thinking throwing them away would be a horrible thing to do and knowing I’d be shipping things myself someday, but that ended up in filling our basement with garbage bags upon garbage bags of unused peanuts.

Then, someone showed me the light.

I was working with my parents’ UPS store to ship me a massive, palette-worthy, shipment (not from my parents but from that area) and I told the guy on the phone how much I hate packing peanuts. I said, “Please, please, please use paper if you can.”

He mentioned that he may have to use some peanuts, but that I could return them to my local UPS store.

WHAT?

It’s the truth, people. I just bring in my bags of clean peanuts to the closest store and they happily take them. Happily. As happily as I hand them over. It’s amazing.

So, next time you get a shipment full of peanuts, don’t throw them away! If you’re not going to reuse them, pop them in a bag and bring them to your local UPS store. It’s that simple.

Posted in: DO

Leave a Reply

