BABY | Books We Love 18-21 months – English

We had a slew of books arrive in our home this holiday season, and I have to say I’m always a bit antsy bringing new books into our routine. Sometimes when I start to read a new one my daughter will say “No no no no no” on repeat until I stop. Sometimes she will let me finish it and then say “More? More? More? More? More?” on repeat until I start it again. I never know.

These books passed the “More” test. Enjoy.

Screen Shot 2016-01-28 at 10.01.32 PM

This is one of those books that my daughter absolutely cannot get enough of. I read it to her every night, usually multiple times, and sometimes during the day. It’s a simple story with beautiful illustrations that also help with learning basic vocabulary. Once I’m done reading the few lines on each page I’ll ask her to point out the animals or the girl, or other items to get her noticing more of what she sees and learning new words.

For extra cuteness points, she has a mini Gund polar bear that she holds while we read the story and sometimes puts it up to the page where the illustrated bear is.

Screen Shot 2016-01-28 at 10.09.24 PM

My daughter started saying “Baby” right around 18 months. It was the word du jour. And this book talks about babies, shows great illustrations of babies, and gave her a chance to repeat, repeat, repeat “baby.” It’s a cute story I now know by heart and recite to her even without ever opening the book.

Screen Shot 2016-01-28 at 10.16.00 PM

The first night I read this book, this was the only book I was allowed to read the entire night. She liked it that much. Each page is cleverly put together of fingerprints (which are printed in raised ink so they bring a unique tactile experience to storytime) and every day objects to create a scene.

Olaf's 1-2-3

Yes this was on last quarter’s list, but I would be lying to you, and myself, if I didn’t include this book and the following book in this quarter’s list too. My daughter is slightly obsessed with Frozen (I never knew this would happen so early) and she frequently pulls this book from the shelf for me to read at all times of the day. It was actually a precursor to her ever watching the movie but now that she’s in love with Olaf, this book is a great way to help keep her attention as I teach her how to count.

Screen Shot 2016-01-28 at 10.21.53 PM

She loves this book so much she’s tried to eat it. The story is very simple, but the Frozen imagery is what captivates her. If your child loves Frozen, I’d suggest adding this to the icy blue collection.

One thought on “BABY | Books We Love 18-21 months – English

Leave a Reply

