BE | Fall is here.

It’s been less than two weeks of “technical” fall by the calendar. The weather has been crisp, yet warm. The trees were still mostly green. The mornings were for snuggling but the days for removing layers. I knew real fall was coming. The brief, fleeting moment of time between 90 and 30 degrees. It’s my favorite season and still I can never pinpoint when it begins or ends. I just know it has been because I know when it is over.

The weather turned last night. I knew it would, as the day before was filled with fog and quiet. The mountains were hidden behind precipitation of some sort.

Today it was official. Chilly all day. Foggy mist covered the mountains so well I thought we were back in the Midwest. The first two years we were here it snowed for the first time on October 4th. That’s tomorrow. I wonder if we will get any? The forecast calls for a day in the 80s within the next two weeks so perhaps not. Maybe we’ll have an extended season this year.

This is my favorite time of the year. After the intense warmth. Before the back to back to back holidays. I can’t remember when it became my favorite, and I’m not quite sure why it is, but I know I’m happy it is here.

Leave a Reply

