BABY | Did It Work? Cradle Cap Edition

Cradle Cap

When my daughter had a flaky baby scalp, I learned it was called “cradle cap.” My mother-in-law calls it “cradle crap” which is more accurate, but nonetheless, I wanted to get rid of it.

I talked to my mom friend of three boys and she said her friend used olive oil. At the time it sounded a little strange, but I did some researching and found a “recipe” to clear out this problem.

Via BabyCenter:

  • Rub a small amount of a pure, natural oil – such as almond or olive oil – on your baby’s scalp and leave it on for about 15 minutes.
  • Gently comb out the flakes with a fine-tooth comb or brush them out with a soft brush. (I used the brush from the hospital.)
  • Wash your baby’s scalp with a gentle baby shampoo. The last thing you want to do is leave oil on your baby’s head, which could clog the pores and cause the flakes to stick. Try leaving the shampoo on for a few minutes before rinsing, to help cut the oil.

I’m happy to say it worked like a charm! One treatment and it was gone.

Thanks, olive oil.

Leave a Reply

