EAT | My Favorite Remoulade

A few years ago I had the opportunity to be a chef for 3 days for our friends when my husband hosted an annual board meeting at our home. This was the only job I had to do (other than dishes), and I loved it. I was cooking on someone else’s dime and I was able to just focus on this all day long.

I pored through my recipe books looking for things I’d always wanted to try but didn’t have a big enough audience to think it was worth it. I had a wonderful few days of recipes planned out. And one of the best ones I’ve found (and very versatile) is this remoulade from Tyler Florence.

The first time I made it, I included all of the ingredients – anchovies and all. I don’t always have everything it calls for, but I make it anyway with whatever I have. It’s great on burgers as a dressing, sandwiches in place of mayo/mustard, or to use as batter when breading chicken/fish/shrimp.

Tyler Florence’s Tomato Remoulade

Combine all ingredients in a food processor. Store in the fridge for up to a week.

IMG_6524

  • 2 C mayonnaise
  • 1 TBSP tomato paste
  • 2 TBSP capers, drained
  • 1 garlic clove, coarsely chopped
  • 1.5 TSP Dijon mustard
  • 1 anchovy fillet, coarsely chopped
  • 2 TBSP fresh parsley, chopped
  • 1 TBSP fresh tarragon, chopped
  • Dash of Tobasco sauce
  • 1 dill pickle, coarsely chopped
  • Sea salt and freshly ground pepper

IMG_6533

I’ve made this without the anchovy, with a sweet instead of dill pickle, with dried instead of fresh herbs, and it’s still tasted great. It’s a hearty little sauce!

IMG_6534IMG_6536

Leave a Reply

