BE | Adulting: My hair.

I’m a woman of a certain age. And I am not ashamed to say that I have a lot of grey hair.

By “a lot” I mean it’s beyond the point of being able to call them natural highlights. They’re long, wavy and unruly. They stand out in photos. Plus, my post-baby hair has been growing back in for a few months and it’s 50% grey. They’re no longer able to be hidden by moving my part. Or pulling my hair back. Nope. They’re getting out there, front and center, and I’m not sure how I feel about it.

A few months ago I went back to Chicago to visit my family and was treated to a hair cut by one of my favorite salon owners.

She mentioned ever-so-gently that it “might be time” to start thinking about doing an all-over rinse. But not box color – salon color.

She knows I don’t like to spend money on my hair (I’m learning this has been a great privilege of having straight hair), so she wasn’t suggesting I do anything excessive, just something to cover them up.

It’s been two months and I still haven’t done anything about them. I’m not sure how I feel about it all. It’s one of those things I never really thought about, but now I’m thinking about it. Way too frequently.

I used to dye my hair sporadically junior high through college. I stopped in 2003. I have since taken pride in the fact that my hair was untouched by dye and mostly untouched by product. I would just wash, sometimes dry, and go. Easy peasy.

But now I’m older. My hair texture has changed. This latest hair cut revealed my hair to be much more wavy than ever before which required new shampoo/conditioner, plus a product that I’d never consider using on my hair.

Part of what’s keeping me from jumping into the dyeing game is both my mother and grandmother had beautiful white and grey hair. My grandmother died with a head full of stunningly white hair. My mother’s beautiful hair fell out due to chemo and hasn’t been the same since. I don’t want to cheat myself the chance to have such gorgeous hair as they did by dyeing it into oblivion.

I know they dyed it too – especially when they were my age – which is why I’m still on the fence. I just don’t want to get into the endless cycle of having to touch up roots and pay for salon services every few weeks. Heck. Now I get my hair cut twice a year. This would be a big change.

What to do… what to do.

For now, I will start by being grateful that this is a dilemma in my life. I could have much worse things to be considering. I suppose that’s where I’ll leave it for now.

2 thoughts on “BE | Adulting: My hair.

  1. stop hair breakage says:

    Appreciating the dedication you put into your website and detailed information you provide.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t
    the same old rehashed information. Excellent read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    Like

  2. followechoes says:

    I’ve been thinking of growing mine out. I have dark hair which started to go grey in my 20’s. I have been dyeing it permanent for years (dark) every time I decide to take the plunge I back out. Might switch to semi permanent while I make my mind up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

