HOME | Did It Work? Dawn + Vinegar Edition

A few weeks ago, my aunt sent an email forward highlighting the “amazing powers of Blue Dawn.” Also a few weeks ago, a fellow blogger tried the Blue Dawn + Vinegar combination to clean her bathtub. She was happy with the results.

Not being one to jump into things (ok who am I kidding), I sat on this so-called miracle solution until I was sick of looking at my bathtub and ready to give it a try.

I looked online at some other blogs and couldn’t find an exact recipe, so here’s what I did:

  1. Take 1 Part Vinegar (heated for 30 seconds in microwave in microwave safe bowl) – I used 1 Cup,
  2. and 1 Part Blue Dawn (not heated) – also used 1 Cup.
  3. Pour Blue Dawn into Vinegar, mix gently with spoon.
  4. Pour into spray bottle and spray generously all over the bathtub/tile (or if you don’t have one, you could probably just dip a sponge into the bowl and smear it on that way).
  5. Use sponge/scrub pad to wipe it around the tub/walls.
  6. Rinse.
  7. Marvel at your shiny tub!

My tub wasn’t that dirty to begin with, but it did make a difference. Before cleaning with this, when I’d rub my hand along the side of the tub, I could feel a layer of grime that stuck there pretty much no matter how hard I tried to scrub it off. And the base of my tub has just the slightest bit of texture, and dirt got trapped down there too.

Pre-Cleaning
IMG_9407

Pre-Cleaning
IMG_9408

After spraying the solution (see why I needed to wipe it around?)
IMG_9409

Post-Cleaning
IMG_9410

Post-Cleaning
IMG_9411

It also made the chrome sparkle with basically no effort! Just a spray and a wipe down.
IMG_9415

Give it a shot!

Leave a Reply

