DO | Day-Of Coordinator Emergency Kit

A few years ago I was in the midst of planning our wedding. I did everything without the help of a wedding planner, but I decided it was important to me to have a Day-Of-Coordinator. I knew myself well enough to know that I was capable of planning every last detail, but that I would want to be free of bothers on the actual day of my wedding. So, I hired someone to take care of those things for me.

That same year, I was the day-of-coordinator for a friend’s wedding. This was my first wedding at which I was not a guest, but a vendor, and I wanted to make sure I put all of my event-coordination and wedding planning knowledge into effect.

One of the things I knew wedding coordinators should have is an emergency kit. This helps the bride and bridal party (and sometimes other unprepared vendors) take care of unexpected surprises like a ripped hem, dead battery, bleeding groomsman (all of those things happened, not-surprisingly), and any number of things that may go wrong during a large event.

Before my friend’s wedding, I headed to the store to prepare myself with the best emergency kit I could think of. I looked online for some lists, and I went all out. I wouldn’t suggest one this large or comprehensive for someone doing smaller events (or for anyone doing the event for free since it cost about $200), but I’ll be darned if I didn’t have everything in there that someone could need.

This list below is something I’d suggest for a frequent event planner. The items in bold are best for a smaller kit.

Items In My Emergency Kit:

  • Upright Rolling Duffel Bag (for an infrequent coordinator, I’d go with a smaller bag)
  • Plastic containers for the small things
  • 6-pack of Bottled Water
  • Altoids/Mints/Gum
  • Antacid/Gas relief
  • Aspirin/Advil/Tylenol/Pain reliever
  • Baby Wipes/Facial Wipes
  • Bandages of all sizes, some clear
  • Batteries of all sizes (even watch batteries!)
  • Black Socks
  • Blue and Black Ballpoint Pens
  • Bobby Pins – a few colors
  • Clear Nail Polish
  • Combs/Brushes
  • Cotton Balls/Pads
  • Crazy Glue
  • Dental Floss/Toothpicks
  • Deodorant (aerosol can)
  • Duct Tape
  • Earring Backs
  • Extension Cords (2)
  • Eye Drops
  • Eyeglass Repair Kit
  • Goo-Gone
  • Granola Bars/other individually wrapped snacks
  • Hair Rubber Bands
  • Hair Spray
  • Hand Lotion
  • Hand Towelettes
  • Hem Tape
  • Lint Remover
  • Listerine
  • Masking Tape
  • Matches/Lighter
  • Mini Sewing Kit
  • Nail Files
  • Nail Polish Remover
  • Nasal Decongestant
  • Neosporin
  • Pantyhose
  • Panty Liners
  • Permanent Black Marker
  • Power Strip
  • Q-Tips
  • Razors, disposable
  • Rubber Bands
  • Safety Pins and Straight Pins
  • Scissors
  • Scotch Tape
  • Spot Remover
  • Static-cling Spray
  • Straws
  • Tampons
  • Tissues
  • Toothbrushes, disposal
  • Toothpaste
  • Tweezers

Other lists may have some different things depending on their experiences, and it’s obviously up to you how much you want to have in your kit.

This should give you a solid start and add/remove things as you learn what you need.

And, while it’s great to have all of these things to be prepared, don’t forget that when you’re pulling together so many different people and vendors and emotions are running high, things may not go 100% as planned. It’s important for you, as the coordinator, to keep your cool and make sure things are the best they can be. If something does go wrong, roll with it, get it fixed, and move on. The bride will most likely never know there was a problem anyway.

Most importantly, have fun!

Leave a Reply

