BABY | Free Breastpump

You may notice in my post about a first-time baby registry I mention a breastpump I was looking to purchase. Turns out, thanks to the Affordable Care Act (ACA), I was able to remove that from my registry and get one for free.

It started a few months ago when my OB/GYN mentioned breastpumps and some supplies were covered by ordering them from a certain website. Clearly I forgot about that and put one on my registry. Then, recently, my friend mentioned a different website she used to get her free breastpump. I went to that website, but before I entered all of my personal information, I called my insurance company. Turns out, they have a system of their own.

Why is it possible to get these support items for free? Well, thanks to the ACA, which is meant to give people better access to preventative care, insurance now covers things that help pregnant women like breastfeeding equipment, counseling from trained providers, and lactation support.

To see if you are eligible for a free breastpump:

1. Check with your insurance to see what they cover and how you can get it. (I am covered for a breastpump, and 150 milk storage bags every 90 days – they gave me the number to call and it’s that simple.)

2. If you’re covered, order one. You may be able to order one right over the phone from their preferred provider, like I did. You may need to go to your doctor’s office (though make sure they’re a preferred provider for your insurance).

It seems ridiculously simple – and it was. The funny thing was they asked me a qualifying question, which was:

“Are you pregnant?”

I laughed and said, “Yes.”

Then I said, “No, just kidding, I just really want a breastpump.”

I mean, more power to you if you want to pump your breasts for fun…

Hopefully this is helpful and spared you some money!

One thought on “BABY | Free Breastpump

Leave a Reply

